Einstein, once said “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results”.

The Orange Order apparently disagrees. In fact they make a virtue out of repeating the same mistakes. They are embarking upon a scheme on the Woodvale rd reminiscent of the disastrous Drumcree policy. Personally I am not surprised. Let’s look at a little history regarding Orange Order marches to start with:

1843, 1857, 1864, 1872. Serious sectarian rioting around Orange parades.

1886, Another riot, 50 civilians dead, after the defeat of the home rule bill that year, 390 RIC injured and 1 dead.

1893, 1912, more riots. Interestingly Winston Churchill was attacked by a unionist mob that year.

1920 -1922: Appalling rioting. 465 Dead. 1000 wounded.

7000 catholic workers expelled from their jobs. Homes burned, battlelines drawn.

1935: Orange Riots. 2000 catholics forced from their homes.

1964. Ian Paisley tries to remove a “fleg” from Divis St.

I could continue but if the pattern here is not apparent then I am underestimating the intelligence of people reading this. The one thing I am sure of is that I could never overestimate the intelligence of the leadership of Unionism. They appear to be repeating the Drumcree strategy. Are these people, and I hesitate to use this word but I see no alternative, stupid?

