Tonight, at a flag protest in Belfast, an elderly man asked to pass in his car.

His wife was dying in Hospital.

The protesters laughed. They sang. The song was “Cheerio”.

He did not get through.

All of this has been broadcast on local radio tonight. I will post a link (Audio only) when I can.

Link here. Listen at 2:07

Tonights events regarding the elderly gentleman who was blocked from getting to his dying wife have changed this dynamic. As always it is a human story that has revealed the truth. A non democratic compromise via alliance or a pan unionist alliance solution is now a non starter. Sometimes you need to talk and try to reason with unreasonable people. When they go beyond a certain point you need to stand firm.

I know which camp I am in now. I am in the camp of that poor man.

Words fail me.

